A Little Behind

I got a little behind, what with the long weekend and all! This doesn’t mean that I haven’t been taking photos, it just means that I haven’t been following the “plan.”

I read a photog blog last week about taking pictures at night. More specifically, taking pictures when there is a full moon. The moon shines a ton of light that we don’t necessarily see with the human eye, but light that the camera will pick up. Because we’ve had a full moon this weekend I wanted to give it a shot. As soon as the moon began rising (around 10pm) on Saturday I headed down to the lake. One of my favorite places to go when we’re off the grid. I was hoping to capture some stars in some of the shots and if you look carefully, you can see them, but overall, the clouds rolling in inhibited that from happening. I will try again during the next full moon.

This was my first shot. The moon was JUST beginning to come up over the hillside.

This was my first shot. The moon was JUST beginning to come up over the hillside.

What I love about this one is that it has a sunrise/sunset feel to it, but you can also see some starts poking through the clouds.

What I love about this one is that it has a sunrise/sunset feel to it, but you can also see some starts poking through the clouds.

I love the color of the clouds. I was stunned at how much light my camera was capturing.

I love the color of the clouds. I was stunned at how much light my camera was picking up. (ISO at 200, fstop between 3 & 4 depending on the picture – I kept adjusting it to see what it would do to the photo.)

I like the pink clouds reflecting in the lake.

I like the hint of pink reflecting in the lake.

I like the blur of the clouds around the moon. A storm was blowing in and the clouds were moving at a pretty good clip, hiding and unhiding the moon.

I like the blur of the clouds around the moon. A storm was blowing in and the clouds were moving at a pretty good clip, hiding and unhiding the moon.

This is my favorite because of the clarity of the full moon, and the reflection of the moon on the lake.

This is my favorite because of the clarity of the full moon, and the reflection of the moon on the lake.

One thought on “A Little Behind

Leave a Reply

