Day 1 – B Is For…

BABY!!!  Baby, baby, baby, baby, baby!!

No. I’m not excited. Why do you ask?

Photo05301816

Here’s where a 24 week old baby is in its development:

Your baby’s growing steadily, having gained about 4 ounces since last week. That puts her at just over a pound. Since she’s almost a foot long (picture an ear of corn), she cuts a pretty lean figure at this point, but her body is filling out proportionally and she’ll soon start to plump up. Her brain is also growing quickly now, and her taste buds are continuing to develop. Her lungs are developing “branches” of the respiratory “tree” as well as cells that produce surfactant, a substance that will help her air sacs inflate once she hits the outside world. Her skin is still thin and translucent, but that will start to change soon.

2 thoughts on “Day 1 – B Is For…

  1. Is that Melissa’s belly??? OMG!! Too bad she’s not closer! This IS very exciting!!!! I’ll bet you can’t wait to get out for the delivery. Is work going to work with you so you can have a nice loooonnnggg stay in Hawaii??? (I’m very jealous!!)

    • Yup, that’s Melissa. She’s suddenly just popped. She called me the other day, “My beautiful belly button is now an outtie.” I just burst out laughing. She sent me a front view picture of her bare belly and titled the picture “doorbell.” Bwah! Cracked me up.

      I’m hoping to get 10 days out there with her when the baby is born. She’s not planning on breast feeding so *I* am planning on going, “Go take a nap, honey” and then grabbing the baby, a bottle, and heading out to do some site seeing. I’ll obviously have to take a trip out there with Mark sometime so we can do a “real” Hawaiian vacation, but I’ll try to make the most of it when I’m there for the baby. Melissa thinks she’ll feel well enough to take me all over the place. Poor thing. She has NO IDEA what is about to happen! 🙂

Leave a Reply

