Day 21 – Lunchtime

Happy first day of summer! Lunchtime was a nice, light, refreshing fare.

20130620_114636

The “wrap” is filled with early spring greens (obviously) and then tuna salad(ish). Last summer I had zucchini coming out the wazoo and was very tired of sauteed zukes. A friend of mine gave me a recipe for zucchini relish. Now, I’m not a big relish person and don’t really care for pickle relish on my burgers or brats or in potato salad or tuna salad, but my friend swears by it! She sent home a jar of her relish and it was quite delicious so I canned a few dozen pints of zucchini relish. And then this year I did NOT plant any zucchini!!!

So. The tuna. I used a small can (5 oz) of drained tuna. Two hard boiled eggs, peeled and chopped to smithereens. About 1/8 cup of zucchini relish and just a titch of Olive Oil Mayo. Maybe 1 tablespoon?? Just enough to barely hold it all together.

I mixed that all up really well and put it on a flatbread. Pita, I think, but that was an hour ago. šŸ˜‰ Then I added the mixed greens and folded it over taco style.

The broccoli salad is fresh broccoli florets, cut into bite sized pieces. Chopped strawberries. Pecan halves. And just enough Marzetti’s (my favorite, all natural dressing) poppy seed dressing to coat (not drown) it.

Then, of course, you’ll recognize the cucumbers.

It was a yummy, low calorie/low carb/high protein meal. AND…I have some left over for tomorrow! Score!

Leave a Reply

