In A Rut

What do you do when you’re in a rut with your pictures? I’ve been feeling a little “meh” about getting out and shooting. I feel certain that our ridiculously cold weather has something to do with it. I find that I don’t want to leave the house for any reason. So my poor camera has been sitting on the sofa waiting for me to pay some attention to it.

What do you do when you’re in a rut? How do you drag yourself out of it? I’m hoping that my upcoming vacation is going to re-light the fire. I’ve kind of made a list of things that will help with the slump.

1. Hang out with other photo enthusiasts.

I plan on doing this next month, as my favorite photo enthusiast is going on vacation with me. She always inspires me to shoot more, be more creative with my shots, and step out of my comfort zone.

I bought something to play with while I'm on vacation.

I bought something to play with while I’m on vacation.

2. Don’t forget to take advantage of the camera on my Droid.

Taking photos doesn’t necessarily mean that I have to drag my big girl camera around with me. I think sometimes that’s the problem. I just plain and simply do not want to lug around a big camera. It frees me up to take random, spontaneous pictures.

What? You don't stop your run at a moment's notice to make snow angels?  Weird.

What? You don’t stop your run at a moment’s notice to make snow angels? Weird.

3. Document something.

I like to do a lot of before and after photos. When I’m in a rut I tend to do before and after as I get ready for work. Ah, yes. The ridiculous selfie. But it does put a camera in my hand so I guess there is value to it.

Hair after just removing hot rollers. YES, there are still people around who use curlers. Out Of Control!

Hair after just removing hot rollers. YES, there are still people around who use curlers. Out Of Control!

Much better!

Much better!

4. Take pictures of someone you love.

I have a readily available subject at my beck and call. And he’s pretty danged cute, too.

So beautiful and regal.

So beautiful and regal.

Check out his ginormous paws.

Check out his ginormous paws.

What do you do when you’re stuck in a horrible, photography rut?

Leave a Reply

