2014 – March 15 – Rock The Boat

I’ve mentioned that I love ships. Boats. Ships. Dhingies. Whatever. I suspect that it is my love for water that makes me love pretty much anything associated with it. When we were in Grand Caymans we went to swim with the stingrays. The water in the Caymans is just amazing! It is the clearest water I have ever seen. The picture is never as good as the reality and I’m amazed by photographers who can capture exactly what it is that I see. Some day I’ll figure it out. Obviously, this means that I need to visit the ocean more often.

As we were leaving stingray city, there was a party boat hanging out. OK. I’m just assuming it was a party boat. I’ve been on enough sailing catamarans in the Caribbean that I’m sure I’m not far off the mark of that assumption.

IMG_0149

 

Since we’re talking about boats, I have to show you some additional pictures. They’re not from this vacation, but they fit the topic, AND they are some of my favorite boat pictures.

After I had my hysterectomy I went on vacation with my sister to recuperate. PERFECT recuperation location, by the way. Our condo was right on the beach and while the others were off playing, I would  wander the beach. I wasn't allowed to do anything strenuous...just walk. So I did.

After I had my hysterectomy I went on vacation with my sister to recuperate. PERFECT recuperation location, by the way. Our condo was right on the beach and while the others were off playing, I would wander the beach. I wasn’t allowed to do anything strenuous…just walk. So I did.

We went to a beach in Juno and I was walking down the steps onto the beach. A lady saw my camera and goes, "There's a sailboat washed up on shore just up the beach." So, off I headed while everyone else jumped into the ocean to do some body-surfing. The boat was a LOT longer of a walk than I anticipated, but totally worth it.

We went to a beach in Juno and I was walking down the steps onto the beach. A lady saw my camera and goes, “There’s a sailboat washed up on shore just up the beach.” So, off I headed while everyone else jumped into the ocean to do some body-surfing. The boat was a LOT longer of a walk than I anticipated, but totally worth it.

When Mark got tired of playing in the water, he decided to head up the beach to find me. He'd seen the wrecked boat and figured that's where I was headed. The story I heard from passersby was that the owners got caught in a storm and the boat hit a barrier in the water. I had seen the barriers they were talking about while I was making my way to the boat. It was going to cost the owners 100,000 bucks to have the ship towed into dry dock so they just left it. Blows my mind!!

When Mark got tired of playing in the water, he decided to head up the beach to find me. He’d seen the wrecked boat and figured that’s where I was headed. The story I heard from passersby was that the owners got caught in a storm and the boat hit a barrier in the water. I had seen the barriers they were talking about while I was making my way to the boat. It was going to cost the owners 100,000 bucks to have the ship towed into dry dock so they just left it. Blows my mind!!

The saddest part about these pictures is that my computer where they were originally loaded crashed and burned and I lost all my photos!! Anything that I had not uploaded to my Picasa is gone. So they’ve been uploaded and downloaded and uploaded again. It does wonders for compression. :/ Regardless, they’re still some of my favorite pictures!

Leave a Reply

