N is for Nature

I love shooting birds. Not in a “bang, bang” kinda way. But in a “gimme a telephoto lens” kinda way. Birds are HARD to shoot! Holy mackerel. They just won’t hold still, dadgummit. I tend to use auto-focus because of their constant spasticity. On the rare occasion, I get a shot that I really like. Of course, my auto focus thought I was looking at the wings, not the head, but that’s OK. I still love this picture.

IMG_3601

 

I’ll just say “You’re welcome” for not showing you the picture of the animal this thing was eating…guts, flies, and all that jazz.

3 thoughts on “N is for Nature

  1. Great pose!
    Would a faster shutter speed work? (Not sure what you had it on) My camera sometimes has trouble focusing as fast as I’d like, too. (Evidenced by all the blurry shots I got in Florida last Feb) I read somewhere that you can tell the focus to select a smaller (central) area and it works faster. Haven’t had a chance to try it out yet. Maybe ask the master…Jeff! πŸ™‚

    • I’m on my computer and able to read things with better understanding. πŸ™‚ I think you’re talking about metering. Spot metering, evaluative metering, partial metering, center-weighted metering. I was using spot metering, which is going to hone in on whatever you’ve got your single focal point set to. Unfortunately, I had all nine focal points set, figuring that if it started moving, the camera would know where to focus. I chose…unwisely.

      I should have had a single focal point set. Live and learn, right. I’ve been thinking about that damned shot ever since you posted your comment trying to remember what my settings were, and those were the things I recalled as being wrong with this picture. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

