2014 – November 3 – The Lakes Of Wildwood

I’ve mentioned “going off the grid” plenty of times around this place, so I thought I’d show you a little of it. I’m grateful that I have a place where I can escape the rigors of daily life. Get away from the hubbub and stress of work. A place where I can be close to nature, hang out with great friends, and just unwind.

One of the things that makes me smile about this place is that it touts its ten lakes. So….let me show you these lakes.

Crows Fork Lake. One of the main lakes. The sign in front of this lake says "Crow's Fork Lake Beach." I've been to a beach. This is NOT what a beach looks like. This looks like frozen grass.

Crows Fork Lake. One of the main lakes. The sign in front of this lake says “Crow’s Fork Lake Beach.” I’ve been to a beach. This is NOT what a beach looks like. This looks like frozen grass.

If you want to see wildlife, this is the place to be. It’s a pretty shallow lake and you can see different types of waterfowl, from Great Blue Herons, to ducks, to egrets. You can see deer wandering the banks. Fox. Raccoons. Skunks (if you’re into that sort of thing). With it’s large grassy fields, and easy sloping lake, it is perfectly geared towards the critters.

 

Lost Canyon Lake is the main lake on the property, and my favorite one. This is where I swim. Not this time of year, but during warm weather. I love lake swimming.

Lost Canyon Lake is the main lake on the property, and my favorite one. This is where I swim. Not this time of year, but during warm weather. I love lake swimming.

If you want to canoe or fish from a boat, this is the place to be. There’s an easy access boat ramp that’s also great for swimming or splashing around with the little ones. There’s a nice dock with a fish cleaning station and a few benches that are perfect for watching the large birds of prey circle, or watching the moon rise or the sun set, or just relaxing in a calm summer breeze.

 

Raccoon Lake. There was a house we looked at that butted up to this lake. The location was perfect, but the house was old and falling apart and way over-priced. One of our friends lives on this lake, and that will have to be good enough.

Raccoon Lake. There was a house we looked at that butted up to this lake. The location was perfect, but the house was old and falling apart and way over-priced. One of our friends lives on this lake, and that will have to be good enough.

One of the more scenic lakes. It’s small, so you couldn’t get much more than a paddle board on it, but it’s a pretty little lake and really would be a great place to have a lot if there was any availability.

 

Lower Beaver Lake. Go ahead with the rude comment. I'll wait. ... Do you feel better now?

Lower Beaver Lake. Go ahead with the rude comments. I’ll wait.

Do you feel better now?

I’m sorry that I didn’t get a picture of Upper Beaver Lake. I feel like I’ve just left ya’ll hanging. My sister and I came down to this lake one evening to do a little “light painting.” Nice, serene little place.

Doe Run Lake. We looked at a house  that was right on this lake, but the lot the house sat on was really small. REALLY small. Jake wouldn't have even fit in it.

Doe Run Lake. We looked at a house that was right on this lake, but the lot the house sat on was really small. REALLY small. Jake wouldn’t have even fit in it.

This is one of the more secluded lakes. When Mark and I first discovered it, it took us forever to remember how to get here. It’s off the beaten path, which is part of its allure for me.

 

Pheasant Lake. I like this lake a lot. The water is crystal clear, unlike the muddy water of all the other lakes. I'm not sure what makes it so clear. I think that the fact that the bottom is all grass has a lot to do with it. Great little fishing lake.

Pheasant Lake. I like this lake a lot. The water is crystal clear, unlike the muddy water of all the other lakes. I’m not sure what makes it so clear. I think that the fact that the bottom is all grass has a lot to do with it. Great little fishing lake.

Mark went fishing at this lake and lost his line once. There’s a telephone cable that goes over the top of the lake. He cast off and his line wrapped right around the cable. We looked up and saw the massive knots of fishing line and I said, “I’m guessing you’re not the first one to have this issue.”

 

Little Pheasant Lake. I'll warn you right now that the rules of this lake clearly state, "No water skiing." I don't know why, but if I were a betting woman, I'd guess it had something to do with a pair of drunk rednecks, a 4wheeler, and a set of skis.

Little Pheasant Lake. I’ll warn you right now that the rules of this lake clearly state, “No water skiing.” I don’t know why, but if I were a betting woman, I’d guess it had something to do with a pair of drunk rednecks, a 4-wheeler, and a set of skis.

This lake sits right on the side of the road that heads up to the ATV trails. I laugh every time I pass it as I ponder how one would ski in it.

 

Sam McDonal Fishing Hole. The only appropriately named "lake" in the area. They're all just fishin' holes!

Sam McDonald Fishing Hole. The only appropriately named “lake” in the area. They’re all just fishin’ holes!

Even though I find it ridiculously silly that they claim to have ten lakes (I missed a couple as I was driving around shooting on Saturday morning), I love having a place where I can go to relax.

2 thoughts on “2014 – November 3 – The Lakes Of Wildwood

  1. You got some great shots of these! And it’s a nice little reference for me. πŸ™‚
    And…I wondered the same thing about the “No skiing” sign. Things that make you go, “Hmmm.”

Leave a Reply

