2014 – November 10 – And Then Along Came…

My heart.

My joy.

My son.

From the time I was a young girl, I knew that I wanted sons. I would be a great mom to sons. I was a tom-boy. I liked all things sports, outdoors, adventurous. Everything that the 60s and 70s told us were “boy” things. I could never imagine having daughters. The frills and ribbons and dolls and pink things didn’t fit in with my plan.

They say that when you make a plan, God laughs. Well, in my place, God must have thought he was pretty freaking hilarious! ALL GIRLS!! All very fabulous, non-frilly girls. I am very blessed with the daughters that I have. My yearning for a boy never took anything away from what I have with them.

But then along came Matt. He was this boy with an infectious smile and a ready hug. I suddenly had this son in my life. The son I had longed for since as far back as I can remember. He filled a hole in my heart that I thought would forever be empty. Everything was complete. It was not always easy, but he was mine. The first time he called me “Momma” I melted completely.

IMG_6487

My son. I could not love him more if I’d had him myself.

Leave a Reply

